Ravishing rhubarb!


Managed to take my first trip of the season to our neighborhood farmers’ market this past weekend, and boy had I missed it. We weren’t really in need of any veggies, but several vendors had some great looking spring fruits!

First farmers' market loot: Raspberries, strawberries and rhubarb!

Now, what to do with everything? Well, I needn’t worry. The raspberries are already gone — gobbled up quickly by the hubby and me. The strawberries are disappearing quickly as well.

And as for the rhubarb? I made the famous Aunt Norma’s rhubarb muffins. I kinda hated turning on the oven in today’s heat, but it was worth it!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

These puppies are delicious. I actually ended up substituting chopped almonds for the walnuts because that was all I had around the house. Because of the switch, I also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I wasn’t quite sure how it would work out, but it was great! I still have some rhubarb left over, so I’m considering attempting a strawberry rhubarb crisp (inspired by a dessert hubby and I shared at Mrs. Murphy & Son’s Irish Bistro this past weekend). We’ll see if there’s any strawberries left by tomorrow evening! Stay tuned!

My rhubarb mustache - just for you, Em!

6 Responses to “Ravishing rhubarb!”

  1. Can you send some to Champaign? K. thanks.

  2. This blog makes me hungry. Wonderful pictures Amy! If I move back to Chicago can I come over and eat at your house?

  3. Emily Raij Says:

    Love the rhubarb mustache! Can’t wait to see what you guys do next (and, of course, what other produce facial hair you come up with)…

  4. […] crisp to be reckoned with As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve had my eye on a recipe for strawberry-rhubarb crisp, which I finally made last week, to […]

Leave a comment