A crisp to be reckoned with


As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve had my eye on a recipe for strawberry-rhubarb crisp, which I finally made last week, to my husband’s delight. I haven’t really had a lot of experience with rhubarb to date, but after the delicious muffins from last week, and a yummy dessert we’d ordered recently at our local Irish bistro, I have a new appreciation for this spring specialty. And we’d managed to save just enough strawberries from last week’s farmer’s market trip to make this recipe work.

Be forwarned, as you’ll notice if you clicked on the recipe for this crisp, there is nothing low-fat or diet about it. With 2 cups of sugar (one white, one brown) and an entire stick of butter, healthy this is not, but that’s what makes it so darn good. I’m of the mindset that you just have to indulge every once in a while.

I examined several other strawberry-rhubarb crisp recipes before ultimately deciding on this one. If anyone tries out a different recipe or has other recommendations, please let me know. But the one we tried was money — butter, buttermilk and all.

Strawberry-rhubarb crisp

2 Responses to “A crisp to be reckoned with”

  1. You’ve made this sound and look even more delicious–thanks for trying our recipe and doing it so well…

  2. Thanks Susan. It was delicious! Nice work.

Leave a comment